newest | me | past | diaryland


mirror

today i went to lunch with the person i like and he told me he wanted a girlfriend because his house is cold. i have heard of this before, people getting into relationships during the winter because they want to sort of hibernate next to another warm body, but i wasn't sure what to say, so i told him i never have this problem because i'm fat. i don't really know if this is true, but it feels true. i do know that both of my actual serious relationships have started in warm weather and ended when it started to get cold. i have a theory about this - i think when the weather is nice i'm more motivated to go outside, so i'm more likely to want a companion to do things with. when it gets cold i start staying indoors and i have a lot of time to ruminate on how tired i am of whoever i'm dating. also i have never lived anywhere except in the house i grew up in with my mother, so i don't know what it's like to come home to a cold empty house every day.

so i suggested that we just start going out to eat a lot so he'd get fat, and told him i would look for my space heater for him. later my friend told me that when someone tells you, "i wish i had a girlfriend," they usually mean, "i wish you were my girlfriend." maybe i shouldn't look for my space heater too hard?

also, he gave me a ticket to an art thing on friday. my interest in visual art is minimal at best but the art museum's website says there's a scavenger hunt and i'm all about that. i hope the clues don't require too much expert art knowledge because i will not be able to do that.

here's a story i told the person i like today, which i like so much that i want to write it down here. a while ago i was driving downtown, and while i was sitting at a stoplight, i was checking myself out in the rear view mirror. the man in the car beside me rolled down his window and yelled, "hey, don't worry, you look great." i was startled and confused so i told him, "no, i know." i guess he thought i was worried that something was wrong with my face, but i wasn't - i just really like looking at myself in the mirror. and i don't feel bad about that, because i used to really hate it, and that was worse.

anyway.


<< >>