newest | me | past | diaryland


new year

on new year's eve i went out with my friend G. we went to dinner first and then to a bar. it was still pretty early, so it wasn't too crowded or crazy yet. i met two boys that i thought were cute but i knew one of them was gay but i didn't know which one but then it turned out the straight one had a girlfriend anyway so it didn't matter. a guy tried to hug me and i told him no and then later i asked G if he was hitting on me and she said yes. i was annoyed because he was gross. he showed up at a new year's eve party wearing sweatpants, for god's sake. who does that? so then the bar started to fill up and if you went outside you had to wait in line for 20 minutes to go back in. we decided that was bullshit and went to a different bar because the person i like was there and he invited me.

the first person we saw when we walked in was some dude that G likes. that was great for her, but it made me nervous, because it meant she left me alone to talk to the person i like and also his girlfriend. but it turns out i like her (the girlfriend) quite a lot. the person i like offered me his seat so i sat next to her and we talked. she showed me a tattoo which is on her upper thigh so it was hard for me to figure out how interested to seem. i normally like looking at people's tattoos and i guess on new year's eve it's usual for people to show other people body parts which are usually kept covered since a stranger had flashed me in the bathroom earlier in the night but i still felt weird about it. anyway it turned out to be fine. i got pretty drunk because people kept buying me shots, and then the person i like and his girlfriend went home, and G drove me back to the first bar thinking it was probably less crowded since it was past midnight.

i don't remember much of what happened there but i know someone took my picture and a guy talked to me. he said his name was zach and i said angrily, "i already know a zach." i don't remember why but anyway, after that G took me to another bar because she heard there was karaoke there. but it was lousy, so she only did one song, and then we went to denny's so i could sober up, and then i drove her back to her car and i went home. it was around 6 am but i wasn't tired so i took an advil and drank a lot of water and ate candy until i felt sleepy, and then i went to bed.

i have some thoughts about the person i like and his girlfriend but i don't feel like writing anymore so i'll get to that another time.


<< >>