newest | me | past | diaryland


first day

so, college.

i signed up for classes on wednesday and today (thursday) was my first day. i was afraid i'd get stuck with either awful classes at reasonable times or dull classes at 8 am or 6 pm. but actually i was extremely lucky. this is my schedule:

monday, wednesday, friday:
elementary statistics for sociologists, 12:00-12:55 pm
monday + wednesday:
sociological theory, 2:20-3:35 pm
tuesday + thursday:
sociology of sex roles, 10:05-11:20 am
sociology of deviant behavior, 1:15-2:30 pm

it's such a nice schedule! i don't have to get up too early and i won't be in class that late. plus, i'm interested in all of these topics, except statistics, but that's a required class for sociology majors so it's still nice to get it out of the way early. and i'm good at math so it's not like it'll be hard.

so today i had sociology of sex roles first. the material seems really interesting, but i don't know about the professor. she seems like the kind of person who thinks she's more edgy than she actually is, and she said she prides herself on being "blunt", which means "a jerk, but i think if i acknowledge it then that makes it okay". oh well. she said there's a lot of reading in her class but since there are no writing assignments or anything, that's just fine with me.

after that i went to lunch. i wanted to eat on campus because my car was parked so far away from my classroom. it seriously took about half an hour to walk there, and i wasn't even lost. it wouldn't be bad at all except that it was so hot and humid out today and i hadn't really had any breakfast. but i had to do the long walk again because i was parked at a meter and had to move my car. then i got a text from A saying that her boyfriend had done something to hurt her feelings and she was having a bad day, so instead of going to mcdonald's for lunch like i wanted, i went to panera where she works so i could say hi and give her a hug. i ate a bagel i didn't really want, and drank too much lemonade and got a stomachache.

then it took me 15 minutes to find a parking space with a meter with a max time of more than 2 hours, and then i had to walk for half an hour again, but it was even hotter. luckily all of my classes are in a cluster of buildings right next to each other, so at least i don't have to worry about getting lost, but it's still not a fun walk.

so then i had sociology of deviant behavior, which i think will be really fun. the professor seems cool; i had some uncharitable thoughts about him at first but he was nice and seems to have a good sense of humor, so i won't write those thoughts down here. he let us out of class early, and then i walked back to my car, and then i went to zaxby's and stopped at walgreens and went home to eat, and then i discovered i have a blister.

i noticed, while walking around campus and looking at the other people in my classes, that my college seems very homogeneous. about 60% of the girls in my classes were in sororities. i could tell, because they all had sorority shirts on. also they looked the same to me - all thin and white, with long straight blonde or brown hair. it creeps me out a little. i hope there's no group work in any of my classes because it'll probably come up that i think over half of my classmates are literally the same person. it's not my fault, though. if you want people to remember your face, don't go out of your way to dress the exact same as thousands of other people. dye your hair or something, i don't know.

i keep hoping i'll run into the person i'm interested in on campus. it hasn't happened yet, but it could! i just hope it's not when i'm tired, sweaty, and angry, although my makeup actually held up really well today, so shoutout to my $15 sephora primer. maybe i'll invest in one of those setting spray things so my face doesn't turn into an oil slick during the day.

last thing: i'm planning a craft. it's not very complicated, i'm just going to glue some plastic butterflies onto alligator clips so i can wear them in my hair. what i want is to get them in different colors and wear 3 or 4 at once, so it'll sort of look like a bunch of butterflies have landed in my hair. i also plan to clip some of them to my cardigans or onto the lanyard my school id hangs on. it should be pretty cheap and easy, and i may do some flower clips too. i used to have a bunch of them but most of them are damaged or lost by now. and now i can have whatever colors i want. i'm really looking forward to it.


<< >>