newest | me | past | diaryland


flood

i haven't had class this week because of the flooding and stuff. my mom and i have been really lucky. the worst thing that happened to us is our power went out for about an hour and i was angry because i couldn't have breakfast. meanwhile, a bunch of people died and some homes were destroyed because dams broke. we got a ride with some friends on monday to go grocery shopping and bought a crazy amount of food (no water bottles because there weren't any left) but it turned out to not really be necessary since i could safely drive around my area of town by tuesday, as long as i didn't do anything dumb like move barricades so i could drive through them, which multiple actual adult humans did. i guess there's no helping some people.

it's nice to have the week off but i'm actually ready to go back to school. i've mostly been cooped up in the house since sunday and i miss my friends. and i'm anxious about the amount of work we're going to have to catch up on. also i recently decided i have a crush on one of my professors so i miss him too. (my best friend's advice: write my number on the top of my final exam.)

it's almost my birthday. my plan was to buy a new dress to wear on that day, and i started looking around online today, and when i checked torrid i found a bunch of dresses i really liked, but last time i went there to try things on, most of the stuff was too long, because they're one of those stores that thinks all fat girls are at least 5'8. so i'm thinking i might just drive up to charlotte so i can try on a bunch of stuff and find something perfect. they also have some dresses with skull prints, so i might get one of those too for halloween, since i don't plan on doing a costume. last year i just wore a red dress with spiderweb tights and that was cool. charlotte's not that far so maybe i will go one day next week after class. i'm really excited!


<< >>